Your Browser Doesn't support the Javascript Technology Committee:
Skip navigation

East Los Angeles College

Home > Admin Services > Information Technology > Technology Committee:
Technology Committee:


The college planning structure at East Los Angeles College reflects the college's commitment to shared governance and to obtaining campuswide and community input on the college goals and objectives that will shape the college's future. The ELAC Shared Governance Council (ESGC) serves as the central governing body for all planning decisions and makes recommendations directly to the college president as part of the shared governance process. In addition to the ESGC, the Strategic Planning Committee (SPC), Educational Planning Subcommittee (ESPC), Facilities Planning Subcommittee (FPSC), Technology Planning Subcommittee (TPSC), Program Review and Viability Committee (PRVC), and the Budget Committee also play key roles in the development and implementation of the college planning agenda. The Office of Institutional Effectiveness facilitates the development of the college planning documents and assists in the implementation and evaluation of the planning agenda.
Technology Committee Organzation Chart
As part of a multi-college district, East Los Angeles College is guided by the strategic planning agenda provided by the district office. The first formal Strategic Plan in the history of the Los Angeles Community College District was adopted by the Board of Trustees on January 24, 2007. The result of a year-long, districtwide effort, the plan sets priorities that will guide district actions and initiatives during the next five years. It also serves to align district goals and priorities with those established in the California Community College System Strategic Plan. The District Planning Committee (DPC) oversees the plan's implementation and works to coordinate the future planning efforts of all nine district colleges. The Strategic Plan outlines five overarching goals and 33 related objectives for the nine LACCD colleges and the District Office. The major planning goals are

  1. Access: Expand Educational Opportunity and Access
  2. Success: Enhance all Measures of Student Success
  3. Excellence: Support Student Learning and Educational Excellence
  4. Accountability: Foster a Districtwide Culture of Service and Accountability
  5. Collaboration and Resources: Explore New Resources and External Partnerships

Each college utilizes the District Planning Goals to guide in the development of its own planning agenda.

East Los Angeles College produces four planning documents, which are formally revised regularly on a six-year schedule.

  1. The East Los Angeles College Strategic Plan serves as the central planning document for the college and contains the College Mission, College Vision, and College Strategic Directions and Values. The Strategic Planning Committee (SPC) is responsible for the development, implementation, and evaluation of the Strategic Plan and reports to the ESGC. The Strategic Plan is used to guide the development of the other planning documents.
  2. The Educational Master Plan details all academic and educational planning objectives, including student and administrative service objectives that relate to educational goals. The Educational Planning Subcommittee (EPSC) is responsible for the development, implementation, and evaluation of Educational Master Plan.
  3. The Facilities Master Plan describes all planning objectives related to facilities and college infrastructure. The Facilities Planning Subcommittee (FPSC) is responsible for the development, implementation and evaluation of the Facilities Master Plan.
  4. The Technology Master Plan describes all objectives related to educational technology and technology infrastructure. The Technology Planning Subcommittee (TPSC) is responsible for the development, implementation and evaluation of the Technology Master Plan. All objectives are aligned with the strategic directions and values of the Strategic Plan.