Your Browser Doesn't support the Javascript National Commission on Service discussion
Skip navigation

East Los Angeles College

Home > News and Events > Events > Upcoming Events > National Commission on Service discussion

Conversation on Service - National Commission on Military. National and Public Services

All ELAC students and employees are invited to join The National Commission on Military, National, and Public Service to discuss how service can impact your life – whether you serve or not. The Commission is interested to hear from students who have served and who might not have any desire to serve.

The conversation will take place

Wednesday, September 19th, 2018
from 12:00PM-1:30PM

East Los Angeles College
F5-209 in the Campus Center Building
1301 Avenida Cesar Chavez,
Monterey Park, CA 91754

Please RSVP to Erin Schneider at

The Commission was created by Congress to consider and develop recommendations to find ways to encourage and inspire more Americans to serve their country and communities and review the military selective service process. The Commission is igniting a national conversation about the value and importance of service as it develops recommendations for the American public, Congress, and the President by March 2020. The Commission is gathering recommendations by holding public meetings, visiting service sites, talking with young people, and meeting with government, nonprofit, civic, and for-profit leaders.

Members of the Commission are:

  • The Honorable Dr. Joseph Heck, Commission Chairman, former Member of the House of Representatives (NV-3)
  • The Honorable Mark Gearan, Vice Chair for National and Public Service, former Director of the Peace Corps
  • The Honorable Debra Wada, Vice Chair for Military Service, former Assistant Secretary of the Army for Manpower and Reserve Affairs
  • Mr. Edward Allard III, former Deputy Director of the Selective Service System
  • Mr. Steve Barney, former General Counsel to the Senate Armed Service Committee
  • The Honorable Dr. Janine Davidson, former Under Secretary of the Navy
  • Ms. Avril Haines, former Principal Deputy National Security Advisor
  • Ms. Jeanette James, former Professional Staff Member of the House Armed Services Committee
  • Mr. Alan Khazei, Founder and Chief Executive Officer of Be the Change, Inc.
  • Mr. Thomas Kilgannon, President of Freedom Alliance
  • Ms. Shawn Skelly, former Director, Executive Secretariat, U.S. Department of Transportation

View: Flyer